Gallery: Stoughton High National Honor Society Induction Ceremony (2012)

The Stoughton High NHS chapter added 35 new members during Wednesday night's ceremony held at the high school auditorium.

Stoughton High honored not only some of its most successful students, but accomplished and well-rounded individuals Wednesday night, at the annual National Honor Society induction ceremony, held in the SHS auditorium.

A combined 35 students - 22 juniors and 13 seniors - were inducted into the Stoughton High chapter of the National Honor Society. They join the 27 current members of the Stoughton High NHS, who were inducted last year.

Members of the Stoughton High NHS "have a minimum of a B+ average, defined as an average of 3.3 on a 4.3 scale," according to the school's handbook.

But scholarship is just one part of National Honor Society. Membership in NHS is based upon achieving excellence in scholarship, leadership, service and overall character, the four pillars of NHS. 

This year's inductees continue to be a success in and out of the classroom - as honor roll students, sports captains, class officers, skilled musicians, award-winning artists, camp counselors or volunteers with various community organizations or religious groups.

Stoughton High NHS president Kelsie LaFerriere served as emcee for the evening. Kassandra Melo sang the National Anthem. Dr. Marguerite Rizzi, Superintendent of the Stoughton Schools, addressed the inductees, as did Interim Town Manager Joseph Feaster, Stoughton High Principal Juile Miller and School Committee Chair Deborah Sovinee.

Jillian Goldberg, an English teacher at SHS, gave the keynote address. Following a tradition started last year, Goldberg, as keynote speaker, became an honorary inductee of the SHS National Honor Society chapter. 

Each of the student inductees also honored an influential teacher from their elementary or middle school years.  

Take a look at the list of NHS inductees and current members below. Photos from the ceremony are posted in the media gallery.


Junior NHS Inductees

Rachel Berkowsky Alexa Luppino Lisa Bontemps Kevin McDonald Jessica Cohen Kassandra Melo Emily Cramer Robert Mone Katrina Daly Alexa Ploss Alec DeNapoli Valia Sammarco Jaquel Eley Deana Sanford David Elmowitz Corey Shore Jacob Finer Emma Sinkus Amanda Glickman Madeline Sinkus Holly Kaufman Julia Sjoquist

Senior NHS Inductees

Callie Concannon Carson McGrath Destiny DeLarosa Gabrielle Medina Alexa DiStefano Igor Pryadko Philip Falkof Rachel Romeiro Jessica Flum Katherine Scabia Patrick Jackman Kiara Serret Adam Lurie

Current NHS Members

Jordan Angelos Brett Hoffman Ariene Ohimor Kerry Backman Nicole Kerman Alex Peixinho Daniel Block Sandra Khuu Brianna Shores Benjamin Call Kelsie LaFerriere Christina Solem Julie Chow Joy Liu John Stewart-Racicot Nicole Daniels Debora Lumene Victoria Tran Ava Dubovy Marie Maillet Katelyn Turner Niamh Fennessy Timothy McGrath Erin Walsh Ariana Hall Jessica Morse Emma Zuk

SHS National Honor Society Officers 

Kelsie LaFerriere Vice President
Jessica Morse Treasurer Benjamin Call
Recording Secretary
Daniel Block
Corresponding Secretary Jordan Angelos
Kimberly Kellogg


More »
Got a question? Something on your mind? Talk to your community, directly.
Note Article
Just a short thought to get the word out quickly about anything in your neighborhood.
Share something with your neighbors.What's on your mind?What's on your mind?Make an announcement, speak your mind, or sell somethingPost something
See more »