.

Dozens of Vehicles Pulled Over During Inspection Sticker Checkpoint on Route 27 in Stoughton

The Stoughton Police assisted the Registry of Motor Vehicles Friday morning in running an inspection sticker checkpoint on Route 27 in Stoughton near the Brockton line.

Driving on Route 27 near the Brockton line Friday morning and see a flurry of police activity and cars being pulled over?

The assisted the Registry of Motor Vehicles in conducting an inspection sticker checkpoint the morning of July 27, resulting in the issuing of dozens of citations and the towing of more than a dozen vehicles deemed to be unsafe, according to the Stoughton Police Department's Facebook page.

The inspection sticker checkpoint was set up from 7 a.m. until 11 a.m. on Route 27 by the Jubilee Church, near the RK shopping plaza. This busy stretch of roadway is right on the Stoughton/Brockton line and is in close proximity to the Route 27 interchange on Route 24 (exit 18).

The operation was overseen by Stoughton Police Lt. Michael Blount, Det. Jim O'Connor and Officers Faria, Lydstone, David, Holmes and Roberts, according to the Facebook page. Lately, the Stoughton Police have been conducting a checkpoint every six months or so, Stoughton Police Executive Officer Robert Devine said.

During this checkpoint, police issued 83 citations, towed 14 vehicles deemed unsafe, issued four summonses and made two arrests during the four hour period.

One arrest was for operating without a license and the other was for outstanding warrants, Devine said.

Devine said working with the RMV is a "force multiplier" and with their assistance the SPD "can be a lot more effective" looking for inspection sticker infractions.

These checkpoints can also result in the discovery of criminal activity.

"Removing unsafe vehicles from the road is a priority," Devine said.

"Events like this keep the streets a safer place," he added.

Bill July 28, 2012 at 01:46 AM
These checkpoints are unconstitutional. They violate the 4th Amendment of the U.S. Constitution. They are stopping people without Probable Cause, and without a warrant. The police are traitors to America. There should be retribution for their heinous acts.
suspendedlicensehelp.com July 28, 2012 at 03:00 AM
Um...Bill...In deciding whether police conduct violates the Fourth Amendment or art. 14 of the Massachusetts Declaration of Rights, it first must be decided whether a search, in the constitutional sense, has taken place. “This determination turns on whether the police conduct has intruded on a constitutionally protected reasonable expectation of privacy.” There's certainly no reasonable expectation of privacy in an inspection sticker which is stuck to the windshield for all to see.
Sinclair July 28, 2012 at 04:15 AM
"To serve and protect" That was quite an impressive event in fundamental law enforcement by utilizing safety as a means to send a message to complacent and unsafe drivers. Considering the recent increase in fatal accidents on route 24; inspection sticker compliance checkpoints and the beefing up of state police patrols on route 24 makes life safer for all of us in the area. I'm hoping to see an increase in citations for those drivers who insist on texting while cruising along. We see them every day sitting still at green traffic lights or driving erratically and weaving side-to-side on highways and secondary roads.
An oldtimer July 28, 2012 at 09:13 AM
bill, break the law, pay the price
An oldtimer July 28, 2012 at 09:18 AM
to the Fiscal Conservative, the sticker with the date on it is infront of you every time you get in the car.The purpose of the inspection is safety. It's your own fault, pay attention
MIke July 28, 2012 at 11:22 AM
maybe next they will go door to door and make sure our papers are in order.
Rob Mitchell July 28, 2012 at 12:48 PM
Soon enough, technology will replace both the registration sticker and inspection sticker (and your highway transponder) and more with an all-in-one unit that police will be able to scan at distance while travelling; no need to slow down or pull over. This tech will detect and report car problems and malfunctions, maintenance information, and basic statistics to the owner/operator as well. I cannot debate the legality of the police operations like this (I'm not a lawyer) I do appreciate the number of infractions that occurred in short period of time and in a small geographic area. It feels like this operation will help Stoughton be safer and better-off than before. Of course, it stinks getting pulled over because you forgot to put the registration sticker on your license plate or your inspection sticker expired last month. But unlicensed driving and arrests from this operation ... wow, that's pretty powerful.
Fiscal Conservative July 28, 2012 at 01:11 PM
Oldtimer: Yeah, it is. How often do you look at it. I can tell you, very rarely do I (or most people). It's easy to forget. It's not a high priority in most people's lives. Most times I'm reminded when I go in for an oil change. The dealer reminds me, then I'm aware of when I'm due. Sorry, like most, I have a relatively busy schedule, as do most people. Sounds like you have nothing to do, except check your sticker every day. I commend you for being so diligent in this. Wish I was (i'm going to check mine now, OK by you).
Fiscal Conservative July 28, 2012 at 01:14 PM
Oldtimer: Just checked my sticker....October. I'll make sure I look every day now, Are you happy now? I even took a Sharpie and wrote on my dashboard, rearview mirror and gas cap. I'll never forget now, thanks to you.
lowertaxes July 28, 2012 at 01:49 PM
I see this as a way for the town to take money from us. The police dept. should be doing things like taking KNOWN heroin deals off the streets. People they have known about for YEARS. People that are doing it every day, in plain site. People that citizens have reported over and over again to the the police dept. I guess that expired inspections stickers are more important than people handing out lethal drugs to our kids.
Carol Siegel July 28, 2012 at 06:50 PM
When we register our cars, we agree (like it or not) to have insurance, a valid inspection sticker, license plates, etc. The sticker goes in the window for the police or registry to see without stopping you. These are some of the rules for the game of "traffic" we play every time we drive. Anyone with a computer, Iphone, etc., can set a reminder to renew driver's licenses, stickers and other timely deadlines. If you miss them, not only do you have to pay a fine, have your car towed, storage fees, (and AAA won't tow an expired registration), but these fees add to your insurance and anyone else who insures in your household. For years. So either play by the rules or have to pay the con$equences.
Roseanne July 28, 2012 at 09:31 PM
I write on my calendar when my inspection is due. Problem solved.
Sinclair July 29, 2012 at 12:28 AM
"Fiscal Conservative" Does it make you feel better, or normal, when you think that "most people" forget their inspecton stickers just like you do? Actually, most people don't forget to have their cars inspected based on the heavy on-time volume of cars being inspected throughout the state.
michd July 29, 2012 at 02:57 AM
Hmmm.... I don’t see why so many people have an issue with the “inspection sticker” stops. I see this as a positive thing for our town. Did you all miss the fact that there were two arrests? I’m pretty sure you don’t get arrested for not have an up-to-date inspection sticker. Two less scumbags coming into our town. Way to go SPD, Thank You!
Theresa July 29, 2012 at 03:37 AM
I never check my sticker.I also know people with very important government jobs who don't always check theirs either. Its just not something you think to do especially when u have small children u r trying to get into theyre seats. I know that it is important to pay attention to those things, but really if there is nothing wrong with your car why would u even think about it
mom2qts July 29, 2012 at 01:46 PM
Wow - I really can't believe the "excuses" you all have. Driving a car is a privilege not a right. Those of you with the excuse that you have children - If you child breaks curfew or doesn't do their homework, will you allow them to say "Hey I was busy, who has time to look at the clock or do my homework." If you can't take the time to either look at the sticker once in awhile then maybe you should just stick to public transportation. BTW - a little over board on the checking it everyday but it is realistic to do so. Drivers ed teaches you to check your mirrors before pulling out is it that hard to add looking at the sticker???
Fiscal Conservative July 29, 2012 at 04:08 PM
Sinclair: Do I feel better pointing these out? No, just a fact of life is people don't pay too much attention to Stickers and when they expire. I'm not one of them, I know when mine expires. I always make an appointment to get mine changed on the 1st day of the month, as soon as my Inspection station opens for business...the day after the Sticker expires. This way I get 13 months for the price of 12 months. Yeah, I'm breaking the law (in essence), but, don't many of our government "Leaders" break the laws (just ask the last 3 MA Speakers of the House,...they're all convicted felons). So, my 12 hour delay shouldn't be that big of a deal. I don't like voluntarily giving gov't my hard earned money. If I can catch a break and extend the period, what do I care. I don't consume alcohol, do drugs, smoke or any of the "fun" things others do. So, I might as well have one vice...keeping my money in my pocket as long as I can. My car DOES get its annual inspection, its safe to drive and I feel good that I've kept my money, where it belong, for as long as I could. I'm sure you have a problem with that.
DJ July 29, 2012 at 07:44 PM
Here is an unrelated heads up. Last year the person providing my inspection sticker wrote in the wrong mileage. This is something I never check for accuracy, but the insurance company did and dropped my low mileage discount until I proved it was incorrect. I'll pay closer attention in the future.
Fiscal Conservative July 29, 2012 at 09:33 PM
DJ: My insurance co. makes me write my mileage every year on Jan 1 Odometer reading. Your comment is worth noting, though. Good headups. Will note in the future. Thanks.
Everyonesacritic July 30, 2012 at 09:09 PM
@FiscalConServative - So: "The dealer reminds me, then I'm aware of when I'm due." and "I know when mine expires. I always make an appointment to get mine changed on the 1st day of the month" So which is it? Anyone who doesn't know when their sticker expires is an idiot and deserves whatever penalty they get if caught. the same goes for DUIs, driving without a license, not paying Excise, out of date registrations and licenses, driving without working lights etc.. I can't say I'm a big fan of all the regulation in my life but the law is the law. Also constantly harping on about MA's criminal speakers (who are despicable criminals, I agree) does not make anyone else's law breaking behavior OK. Get off your political soapbox. This is a public safety issue. I saw it in action and I'm glad they got these bums off the road.
crafty July 31, 2012 at 12:08 AM
an expired inspection sticker is probable cause.
crafty July 31, 2012 at 12:15 AM
I prefer to drive my car on the roads along with other cars that have been inspected for Safety every 12 months... seriously, it is your responsibility plain and simple.. Thank you SPD and the RMV
crafty July 31, 2012 at 12:18 AM
Just get the car inspected every year on time and help make the roads safe for our kids.
crafty July 31, 2012 at 12:19 AM
so do I Roseanne, it is so darn easy isn't it!
crafty July 31, 2012 at 12:21 AM
If you all have your yearly inspection sticker and registration sticker you have nothing to worry about and you won't be pulled over. Thanks for doing a good job
texsou August 08, 2012 at 01:29 AM
Just mark it on your calendar instaed of making fun of people who check it. Once the month comes due for your sticker you have 30 days to get it. No need to 'check it every day' I have forgotten mine in the past but was lucky to not have been pulled over before noticing, but if I had it would be my own fault.
Rick February 05, 2013 at 09:35 PM
Even if your sticker is up to date, they check your car for faults that could have occurred since the inspection and fine you for any they find.
Rick February 05, 2013 at 09:36 PM
No true, they pull you over to check the sticker. If they find a fault that occurred since the inspection you get dinged.
marc bowlen February 08, 2013 at 05:32 AM
too bad some driver with an expired sticker doesn't have a brake failure and can't stop and ends up running those pigs over!
Bob May 25, 2013 at 06:14 AM
There are 2 things that are wrong with the police behavior here. 1st a car could fail for a minor defect, cars in which this occurs should be given a fair amount of time (at last 60 days) to repair the matter. If a car really endangers safety then its fair to tow but otherwise only a warning with at least 60 days to repair the matter should be allowed. 2nd There are a lot of fraudulent automobile inspectors out there who will fail a car with no legitimate basis to fail it to force the driver to pay them for large amounts of money for unnecessary repairs under threat of failing the car, at least one inspector actually intentionally damaged cars, he had insisted customers get him cash to pay for the inspection (would not take a credit card), damages the car when the customer is at the ATM getting him cash, insists he be paid him for the "repairs" or else he would fail the car. If a customer says to such criminal ok then fail the car, the police should not be ticketing the victim of such fraud. Customers should feel safe to do this without fear of being ticketed by the police. All failed stickers should thus allow a reasonable amount of time after they are issued before the police are able to ticket them

Boards

More »
Got a question? Something on your mind? Talk to your community, directly.
Note Article
Just a short thought to get the word out quickly about anything in your neighborhood.
Share something with your neighbors.What's on your mind?What's on your mind?Make an announcement, speak your mind, or sell somethingPost something